Adding new roles = update #Lync again

This might come as obvious for many but I can imagine that it might also be forgotten sometimes.

When you add a new role to a Lync machine, for example I added the Persistent chat role to a Standard edition box today, and after I did that I almost forgot to run the Cumulative update that just got released some days ago,

clip_image002

And as you can see its skipping the stuff that’s already been updated and only applied the updates to the role that were newly installed.

After this, also make sure to update the database as the persistent chat installs the RTM DB and that one also needs to update itself.